QEP-18 conference


This is the 18th meeting of the series of conferences organised by the Quantum Electronics Group of the Institute of Physics.  The conference is part of the Photon’08 event which will be held at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh on August 26th-29th 2008.  The abstract deadline has been extended to 15:00pm on Friday 7th March 2008. The conference especially encourages presentations from PhD students, and a number of prizes will be available.  


Please download the Oral Programme from here

We are now delighted to announce the following invited speakers with the title of their talks as follows:

  • Professor Alexandra Boltasseva (Technical University of Denmark) - "Nanoplasmonics and Metaphotonics: Fabrication Challenges"
  • Professor V Shalaev (Purdue University) - "From Metamaterials to Metadevices: Progress and Challenges"
  • Professor Thomas W. Ebbesen (University Louis Pasteur) - "Surface Plasmon Photonics"
  • Dr. Harry A. Atwater, Jr. (California Institute of Technology) - "Si-based plasmonic devices and active metamaterials"
  • Professor E. H. Linfield (University of Leeds) - "Terahertz Quantum Cascade Lasers"
  • Professor Daniel J Gauthier (Duke University) - "Slow and stopped light in optical waveguides"
  • Professor Dr. Cornelia Denz (University of Münster) - "Light is guiding light - nonlinear refractive index changes for photonic applications"
  • Professor G T Reed (University of Surrey) - "Progress and Opportunities in Silicon Photonics"
  • Professor Richard J. Warburton (Heriot-Watt University) - "Charges and spins in self-assembled quantum dots"
  • Professor Ifor Samuel (University of St Andrews) - "Organic Semiconductor Lasers"
  • Professor J.R.Taylor (Imperial College London) - "All-fibre based sources for spectral and temporal versatility"
  • Professor Dr Martin Wegener (Universität Karlsruhe) - "3D photonic nanostructures by direct laser writing"
  • Dr. Andreas Volkmer  (University of Stuttgart) - "Coherent vibrational microscopy: Exploring the molecular structure and dynamics of individual biopolymers, living cells, and tissue"
  • Professor J L O'Brien (University of Bristol) - "Quantum information science & technology with photons"
  • Professor Kristian Helmerson (NIST) – “Optical manipulation of nanocontainers and nanotubes for single molecule studies”
  • Professor Chris Westbrook (Laboratoire Charles Fabry, Institut d'Optique) – “Manipulation and detection of cold atoms on chips and elsewhere”
  • Professor Stephen M Barnett (University of Strathclyde) - Optical Quantum State-Discrimination Experiments
  • Professor Jenny Nelson (Imperial College London) - Nanostructured and Molecular Materials for Photovoltaic Energy Conversion
  • Dr. Mark Stockman (Georgia State University) - "Attosecond Nanoplasmonics"
  • Professor Dr. Jörg Schmiedmayer (Atominstitut der Österreichischen Universitäten, Austria) - "(De-) coherence and quantum noise in 1d many body systems"

 The programme will also  include focused sessions on following subjects:

  • advances in laser science
  • attosecond optics
  • biophotonics
  • coherent atom manipulation
  • nanophotonics and plasmonics
  • nonlinear optics
  • metamaterials
  • microstructured photonic materials
  • organic semiconductors
  • quantum cascade lasers
  • quantum degenerate gases
  • quantum dots
  • quantum information and processing
  • quantum optics
  • semiconductor optoelectronics and dynamics
  • slow light
  • terahertz
  • trapping and manipulation

QEP-18 is supported by the Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control (QQQ) and Semiconductor Physics Groups of the Institute of Physics.


QEP-18 Committee
Terence Shepherd (Chair), (QinetiQ)
Gerald Buller (Deputy Chair), (Heriot-Watt University)
Erika Andersson (Heriot-Watt University)
Jeremy Baumberg (University of Cambridge)
Allan Boardman (University of Salford)
Paolo Borri (Cardiff University)
Bill Brocklesby (University of Southampton)
Martin Dawson (University of Strathclyde)
Kishan Dholakia (University of St Andrews)
Mark Fromhold (University of Nottingham)
Paul Harrison (University of Leeds)
Ortwin Hess (University of Surrey)
Myungshik Kim (The Queen's University of Belfast)
Leslie Laycock (BAE Systems)
David Lidzey (University of Sheffield)
Martin McCall (Imperial College London)
Scott McMeekin (Glasgow Caledonian University)
Ray Murray (Imperial College London)
Gian-Luca Oppo (University of Strathclyde)
John Rarity (University of Bristol)
Harvey Rutt (University of Southampton)
Ben Sauer (Imperial College London)
Peter Smowton (University of Wales)
Ian Walmsley (University of Oxford)
Nikolay Zheludev (University of Southampton)

^To the top^