Plenary and invited speakers

We are delighted to announce the following plenary speakers for Photon08:

  • Professor James Fujimoto (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA)

“Optical coherence tomography technology and applications”

Professor James Fujimoto is a principal investigator in the Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He received his S.B., S.M., and Ph.D. in electrical engineeering from MIT in 1979, 1981, and 1984 respectively. Since 1994, he has been Professor of Electrical Engineering at MIT and Adjunct Professor of Opthalmology at Tufts University.

  • Professor Stefan Hell (Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany)

“Far-field optical microscopy”

Stefan Hell is a scientific member of the Max Planck Society and a director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, where he currently leads the Department of NanoBiophotonics. Since 2003 he has led the High Resolution Optical Microscopy division at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg.

  • Professor Roy Sambles (University of Exeter, UK)

The Rank Lecture: "Surface Plasmon Sensing"

Professor Sambles studied physics at Imperial College, London gaining his BSc and PhD there, and has since published over 400 papers in international journals. He is currently Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Exeter, he has a long and distinguished career researching the interaction of light with matter

  • Professor Mordechai Segev (Technion, Haifa, Israel)

“Nonlinear waves in photonic lattices: from lattice solitons and photonic quasi-crystals to Anderson localization of light”

Professor Mordechai Segev recently won the EPS Prize 2007 "For his pioneering contributions in the field of light propagation in nonlinear media, in particular regarding spatial solitons in photorefractive materials, incoherent solitons, and nonlinear waves in periodic structures."



  • Allan Boardman: “Negative index metamaterials”
  • Colin Cunningham: “Technology Challenges for future Optical and IR Astronomical Telescopes”
  • Johannes Courtial: “Orbital angular momentum”



Further information will follow shortly.

^ To the top ^