Photon 2008 Optics and Photonics






This is the biennial conference of the Optics and Photonics Division (formerly the Applied Optics Division) that brings together researchers in the fields of the Optical, Materials and Characterisation, Instrument Science and Technology groups.


Please download the Oral Programme from here

Confirmed Invited Speakers:

  • Profesoor Marus Alden (Lund Institute of Technology) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Emmanuel Beaurepaire (Ecole Polytechnique) - “Contrast mechanisms in third-harmonic generation microscopy of cells and tissues”
  • Claude Boccara (ESPCI) "Biomedical imaging and coherent control"
  • Dr Martin Chamberland (Telops Inc) - "Chemical Standoff Detection: Use of imaging spectroscopy to remotely detect chemical vapors and pollution in the atmosphere"
  • Professor E.R. Davies (Royal Holloway, University of London) - “Image processing and optimal inspection of food products"
  • Professor Jesper Glückstad (Technical University, Denmark) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Steven G Johnson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Norman McMillan (Carlow Institute of Technology) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Andrew Parker (University of Oxford) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Peter Smith (Southampton University) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Mitsuo Takeda (University of Electro-Communications, Japan) - “Coherence Holography and 3-D Coherence Synthesis for Dispersion-free Spatial Coherence Tomography and Profilometry”
  • Professor Helmut Telle (Swansea University) - “LIBS for environmental sensing - where do we stand and where might we go”
  • Dr P Vukusic (University of Exeter) - “Title of talk to be announced”
  • Professor Han Woerdman (Leiden University) - “Title of talk to be announced”

The programme will include focused sessions on:

  • advances in imaging
  • biophotonics
  • combustion physics
  • computational photonics
  • diffractive optics
  • fibre optic systems
  • instrumentation and measurement
  • optical diagnostic engineering
  • optical environmental sensing
  • optical fibre sensors
  • optical nanoscience
  • optical techniques for materials characterisation
  • optical tweezers
  • optical vortices
  • sensors and actuators
  • smart x-ray and neutron optics
  • structured optical materials

Optics and Photonics 2008 will also encompass sessions of the Fringe Analysis Special Interest Group (FASIG). This is the latest in a series of meetings dating back to 1985. It will be devoted to the latest innovations in interferometry, photomechanics and optical metrology, including their application to industrial measurement problems. Papers describing research in the following areas are particularly encouraged:

  • new measurement and analysis techniques
  • phase shifting and phase unwrapping
  • high-speed measurements on solids and fluids
  • micromeasurement techniques and applications
  • shape measurement and 3D machine vision


Optics and Photonics 2008 Committee
Andy Harvey (Chair), (Heriot-Watt University)
Allan Boardman (Deputy Chair), (University of Salford)
Andy Augousti (Kingston University)
Clare Bedrock (IOP Publishing)
Martin Booth (Oxford University)
Mark Dennis (Southampton University)
Catherine Goy (EON Ltd)
Mathew Healey (Cranfield University)
Peter Hodgson (Corus)
Julian Jones (Heriot-Watt University)
Gordon Love (Durham University)
Martin McCall (Imperial College)
Dave McGloin (Dundee University)
Marc Molinari (Heriot-Watt University)
Andrew Moore (Heriot-Watt University)
Steve Morgan (Nottingham University)
Mark Neil (Imperial College)
Krikor Ozanyan (Manchester University)
Patricia Scully (Manchester University)
Ralph Tatam (Cranfield University)
Dave Towers (Leeds University)
Kenny Weir (Imperial College)

^To the top^